The Pledge of Allegiance


The Pledge of Allegiance of 23 words had been initially penned by Francis Bellamy in August 1892 for a Columbus Day celebration. It was an "unofficial" pledge until June 22, 1942 when the United States Congress included the Pledge to the Flag in the United States Flag Code (Title 36). In 1945 the Pledge to the Flag received its official title as: 'The Pledge of Allegiance'. The last change to The Pledge of Allegiance was made on June 14, 1954, creating the 31 word pledge we say today.

"I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all."


In 1892, 1923, 1924 and 1954 the American people demonstrated enough concern about the actual words in the Pledge to make some necessary changes.  It may be a tendency among many Americans to recite The Pledge of Allegiance with little thought for the words themselves. Below, examine these 31 words a little more thoroughly.

I Pledge Allegiance

I Promise to be faithful and true (Promise my loyalty)

to the flag

to the emblem that stands for and represents

of the United States

all 50 states, each of them individual, and individually represented on the flag

of America

yet formed into a UNION of one Nation

and to the Republic

And I also pledge my loyalty to the Government that is itself a Republic, a form of government where the PEOPLE are sovereign

for which it stands,

this government also being represented by the Flag to which I promise loyalty.

one Nation under God,

These 50 individual states are united as a single Republic under the Divine providence of God, "our most powerful resource" (according to the words of President Eisenhower)


and can not be separated.   (This part of the original version of the pledge was written just 30 years after the beginning of the Civil War and demonstrates the unity sought in the years after that divisive period in our history)

with Liberty

The people of this Nation being afforded the freedom to pursue "life, liberty, and happiness",

and Justice

And each person entitled to be treated justly, fairly, and according to proper law and principle,

for All.

And these principles afforded to EVERY AMERICAN, regardless of race, religion, color, creed, or any other criteria.   Just as the flag represents 50 individual states that can not be divided or separated, this Nation represents millions of people who can not be separated or divided.

Thus it is that when you Pledge Allegiance to the United States Flag, You:

*Promise your loyalty to the Flag itself.
*Promise your loyalty to your own and the other 49 States.
*Promise your loyalty to the Government that unites us all,
     Recognizing that we are ONE Nation under God,
     That we can not or should not be divided or alone,
     And understanding the right to Liberty and Justice belongs to ALL of us.

Section 4 of the Flag Code states:

The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag: "I pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.", should be rendered by standing at attention facing the flag with the right hand over the heart. When not in uniform men should remove any non-religious headdress with their right hand and hold it at the left shoulder, the hand being over the heart. Persons in uniform should remain silent, face the flag, and render the military salute."